British Astronomical Association
Supporting amateur astronomers since 1890

Secondary menu

Main menu

BAA About Us

The British Astronomical Association: Awards and Medals

Early in the new year Council considers nominations for the Association's Medals and Awards. If any members wish to nominate a fellow member for some notable contribution, please send a suitably worded citation to the Business Secretary. All nominations must be in writing and signed by two sponsors. Please try to confine citations to one side of an A4 sheet of paper.

Conditions relating to each award are given below. Members are requested to read the conditions carefully and to ensure that citations comply with the conditions for the relative award.

Walter Goodacre Medal and Gift

This award ... is the senior award made by the Association. ...Normally awarded at intervals of not less than two years and not more than four years since the last award.

The award shall be given in recognition of the recipient's contribution to the progress of astronomy over many years, special regard being had to his or her work communicated to the Association, this work being communicated in any form, and not necessarily in writing, provided that the recipient is a member of at least five years standing in the Association at the date of the Annual General Meeting in the year of the award.

Steavenson Award

This shall be awarded to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to observational astronomy.

Horace Dall Medal and Gift

The award shall be made to a person, whether or not a member of the Association, who has shown marked ability in the making of Astronomical Instruments. If two or more people have been jointly concerned in a particular work then each person may receive a medal and gift.

Merlin Medal and Gift

This award shall be made in recognition of a notable contribution to the advancement of astronomy. If two or more persons have been jointly concerned in any particular work, a joint award may be made, in which case each recipient shall receive a medal and gift.

Lydia Brown Medal and Gift

This award shall be in recognition of meritorious service to the Association in an honorary capacity over many years on grounds which would not qualify a nominee for either the Walter Goodacre or Merlin Awards. If two or more persons have been jointly concerned in any particular work, a joint award may be made, in which case each recipient shall receive a medal and gift.

Sir Patrick Moore Prize

The award consists of £500 and a certificate and may be awarded to a member, members or affiliated group for one of the following areas of activity:

  1. The encouragement of a public interest in astronomy.
  2. A contribution to the understanding of the history of astronomy.
  3. Outstanding observational work by a member or members under 21 years of age.
  4. The encouragement of participation in observational astronomy by youngsters.
  5. The carrying out of a collaborative research project, whether between amateurs only or also involving professional astronomers.

Find out more

Image credit: Grant Privett. The aurora, as seen from Stenness.


2021Lyn SmithRaffaello Lena & Barry Fitzgerald Dale Holt 
2020Bill Leatherbarrow
Gary Poyner
Roger Pickard Alexandra Hart Rita Whiting
2019 Robin Leadbeater  Steve Barrett
2018 L. Adamoli K. Hills Eric Emms
2017 Jean MeeusS. WilliamsP. Meadows Martin Edmonds
2016 David R.S. BoydK. KennedyK. MedwayLen ClucasThomas Killestein
2015Tom BolesAndrew WilsonHazel Collett Emil KraaikampM. Holmes
2014 Nick JamesCallum Potter  C. Watson
2013  Ann DaviesMike Gainsford D. Put
2012Ron LiveseyDavid TylerRon Johnson   
2011  Hazel McGee Cor Berrevoets 
2010Eric Strach  Monty Leventhal  
2009 Maurice GavinPeter HudsonTony Markham  
2008R. ArbourT. Boles J. Shears  
2007 H. Mettig P. BirtwhistleP. Wise 
2006R. M. BaumD. Peach    
2005 M. TaylorN. D. HewittJ. R. Fletcher  
2004 N. Bone J. Toone  
2003 S. EvansD. GavineD. C, Parker  
2002J. H. RogersM. Armstrong K. West  
2001 D. McAdam M. OatesB. Knight 
2000M. P. MobberleyA. ElliottR. MizonG. Poyner  
1999 E. H. StrachD. MilesD. BuczynskiE. J. Hysom 
1998G. M. HurstS. Laurie A. F. O. D. Jones  
1997 M. CollinsA. DowdellM. ArmstrongT. C. Platt 
1996R. J. McKimH. R. SoperP. A. Moore D. Sinden 
1995  R. LiveseyD. GrayJ. Youdale 
1994J. E. IslesR. Miles / A. Hollis Isao Miyazaki  
1993 J. BrauschH. R. Hatfield / L. G. MaylingH. HillJ. V. Wall / J. R. Nichol 
1992H. B. RidleyG. E. D. Alcock    
1991  J. W. Mason   
1990M. J. HendrieD. A. R. SimmonsE. R. Atwell (Miss)J. DragescoB. Manning 
1988  R. BaumJ. W. Ells  
1987H. R. HatfieldR. McNaughtE. A. Beet   
1986A. W. Heath  E. H. Collinson  
1985 R. J. McKimC. G. T. WiseN. F. H. Knight  
1984H. G. Miles  P. B. Doherty  
1983  C. L. Belchem   
1982E. A. Whitaker     
1981 R. W. Panther    
1980J. H. RobinsonS. W. Milbourne C. R. Munford  
1979B. G. MarsdenG. E. Taylor / J. H. Rogers D. R. B. Saw  
1978  H. Wildey   
1977 R. Eberst    
1976W. E. Fox / G. E. D. AlcockH. B. Ridley O. J. Knox  
1975 M. P. Candy    
1974C. Dinwoodie J. L. White   
1973P. A. Ringsdore A. W. Vince   
1972 G. E. D. AlcockN. J. Goodman   
1971 J. C. Bennett    
1970 H. G. Miles    
1969E. A. BeetH. Hill    
1968P. A. MooreA. F. A. Jones    
1967H. E. DallW. M. Baxter    
1966R. L. WaterfieldH. Joy    
1965J. G. PorterB. G. Marsden    
1963G. MertonF. W. Hyde / J R. Smith    
1962A. F. O'D.AlexanderG. E. Taylor    
1961W. H. SteavensonG. E. D. Alcock    
1959F. J. Hargreaves     
1957B. M. Peek     
1955P. M. Ryves     
1952F. M. Holborn     
1950F. R. Cripps     
1948M. Davidson     
1945F. J. Sellers     
1941C. F. Butterworth     
1937A. C. D. Crommelin     
1935J. P. M. Prentice     
1932A. M. Newbegin     
1930T. E. R. Phillips