Web links

Updated 2022 February 9

Astrobiology

Coursera https://www.coursera.org/
Astrobiology and the search for extra-terrestrial life 

Coursera Astrobiology: Exploring other worlds

Coursera Emergence of life

European Astrobiology Institute http://europeanastrobiology.eu/

IAU online courses in astrobiology http://astrobiovideo.com/en/search#en

NASA https://www.nasa.gov/
 Astrobiology at NASA https://astrobiology.nasa.gov/
– NASA Astrobiology Institute https://nai.nasa.gov/

The Virtual Planetary Laboratory

UK Centre For Astrobiology https://www.astrobiology.ac.uk/

Citizen science and Amateur Astronomy projects
Exoplanet Explorers https://www.zooniverse.org/projects/ianc2/exoplanet-explorers

Exoplanet watch

Planet Hunters NGTS

Planet Hunters TESS https://www.zooniverse.org/projects/nora-dot-eisner/planet-hunters-tess

The Habitable Exoplanet Hunting Project

Data

AAVSO https://www.aavso.org/
– AAVSO Exoplanet Section https://www.aavso.org/exoplanet-section
– AAVSO to archive amateur astronomer exoplanet data https://www.aavso.org/exoplanet-data
– AAVSO Target Tool https://filtergraph.com/aavso/default/index?exo=on&settype=true

BAA Photometry Database https://britastro.org/photdb/

Catalogue of exoplanets in binary star systems https://www.univie.ac.at/adg/schwarz/multiple.html

Catalogue of known transiting exoplanets http://www.astro.keele.ac.uk/~jkt/tepcat/html-catalogue.html

Czech Astronomical Society https://www.astro.cz/
– Variable Star and Exoplanet Section http://var2.astro.cz/EN/index.php
  – Transiting Exoplanets and Candidates (TRESCA) http://var2.astro.cz/tresca/?lang=en

Exo-Mercat http://www.openexoplanetcatalogue.com/systems/?filters=multistar

ExoKyoto

Exoplanets.org http://exoplanets.org/

Exoplanet Exploration – Planets Beyond Our Solar System

Exoplanet Transit Database (ETD) http://var2.astro.cz/ETD/archive.php

Find Exoplanet Transits https://astro.swarthmore.edu/transits.cgi

Exoplanet Transit Simulator

Habitable Zone Gallery http://www.hzgallery.org/

NASA Exoplanet Archive https://exoplanetarchive.ipac.caltech.edu/index.html

NASA Exoplanet Science Institute

Planetary Habitability Laboratory http://phl.upr.edu/home
– Habitable Exoplanets Catalogue http://phl.upr.edu/projects/habitable-exoplanets-catalog

The Extrasolar Planets Encyclopaedia http://exoplanet.eu/

Education

AAVSO – Carolyn Hurless Online Institute for Continuing Education (CHOICE) https://www.aavso.org/carolyn-hurless-online-institute-continuing-education-choice

Coursera https://www.coursera.org/

– Imagining other Earths https://www.coursera.org/learn/life-on-other-planets

– Astrophysics: Exploring Exoplanets https://www.edx.org/course/astrophysics-exploring-exoplanets-anux-anu-astro2x-1

Future Learn https://www.futurelearn.com/

– How to survive on Mars https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/survive-mars

IAU online courses in astrobiology http://astrobiovideo.com/en/search#en

Open University http://www.open.ac.uk/

– S382 Astrophysics http://www.open.ac.uk/courses/modules/s382
Part 1, Stellar Evolution and Nucleosynthesis,
Part 2, Astrophysical Data Analysis
Part 3, Transiting Exoplanets (Based around the book ‘Transiting Exoplanets’ by Carole Haswell)

Gravitational microlensing

ASASSN – All-Sky Automated Survey for Supernovae
BHTOM
‘Detecting Exoplanets by Gravitational Microlensing using a Small Telescope’ by Grant Christie
Gravitational Microlensing (Wikipedia)
Institute of Astrometry University of Cambridge Gaia Photometric Science Alerts
Korea Microlensing Telescope Network (KMT)
Optical Gravitational Lensing Experiment (OGLE)
Las Cumbres Observatory Microlensing Observing Platform
MicroFun –  http://www.astronomy.ohio-state.edu/~microfun/
Microlensing Searches for ExoplanetsMicrolensing Searches for Exoplanets
Microlensing Source
The Use of High-Magnification Microlensing Events in Discovering Extrasolar Planets
Transient Name Server
Zwicky Transient Facility (ZTF)

Meeting reports and videos

BAA Summer Meeting held at the University of Warwick 2018 July 7
The following videos can be viewed at https://britastro.org/video
– Chemical composition of planets in our galaxy; Prof. Giovanna Tinetti
– Exploring Mars; Prof. John Bridges
– The final fate of planetary systems: Prof. Boris Gaensicke

EuroPlanet Science Conference 2020 Sep 21 – Oct 9
Citizen Scientist Participation in Transiting Exoplanet Science; Mark Salisbury
– Access Session ODAA scroll down and click on video link
Amateur Participation in the ExoClock Project; Martin Crow (starts at 61 mins)

Transit Timing Variations http://nexsci.caltech.edu/workshop/2012/talks/TTV_Fabrycky.pdf

Adventures with a robotic telescope – from supernovae to exoplanets; Martin J. F. Fowler at the BAA meeting held on 2019 March 27th https://britastro.org/video/14934/17688

Observers/Observatories/Projects/Surveys

Allan Telescope Array

Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) https://www.almaobservatory.org/en/home/

Christian Buil http://www.astrosurf.com/buil/index.html

Dennis Conti http://astrodennis.com/

Don Pollacco

HATNet Exoplanet Survey https://hatnet.org/

KELT North http://www.astronomy.ohio-state.edu/keltnorth/Method.html

KELT South https://my.vanderbilt.edu/keltsouth/telescope/

LOFAR Transients Key Project https://www.transientskp.org/science/planets/

MEarth Project

Montcabrer Observatory MPC 213 http://cometas.sytes.net/
– Exoplanets http://cometas.sytes.net/extrasolares/extrasolares.htm

Microlensing Follow-Up Network (MicroFun) http://www.astronomy.ohio-state.edu/~microfun/

Next Generation Transit Survey (NGTS) https://www.ngtransits.org/

Optical Gravitational Lensing Experiment (OGLE) http://ogle.astrouw.edu.pl/
Extrasolar planet events can be accessed via Main OGLE results/Extrasolar planets

Project PANOPTES https://projectpanoptes.org/

Project Argus http://www.setileague.org/argus/index.html

Spectro Polarimetric High-contrast Exoplanet Research instrument (SPHERE) https://www.eso.org/public/unitedkingdom/teles-instr/paranal-observatory/vlt/vlt-instr/sphere/

SuperWASP https://exoplanetarchive.ipac.caltech.edu/docs/SuperWASPMission.html

University of Exeter – Extrasolar planet

Robin Leadbetter http://www.threehillsobservatory.co.uk/astro/astro.htm
– Exoplanet transit http://www.threehillsobservatory.co.uk/astro/TrES_1.htm

Organisations
Berkeley SETI Research Center https://seti.berkeley.edu/

– SETI@home https://setiathome.berkeley.edu/
– Breakthrough Listen https://seti.berkeley.edu/listen/
– SERENDIP https://seti.berkeley.edu/SERENDIP.html
– Astropulse http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/ap_info.php

Breakthrough Initiatives https://breakthroughinitiatives.org/
– Breakthrough Listen http://breakthroughinitiatives.org/initiative/1
– Breakthrough Message http://breakthroughinitiatives.org/initiative/2
– Breakthrough Watch http://breakthroughinitiatives.org/initiative/4
– Breakthrough Starshot http://breakthroughinitiatives.org/initiative/3

British Interplanetary Society https://www.bis-space.com/

Cambridge Exoplanet Research Centre

Centre for Exoplanet Science https://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/exoplanets/index.html

Hampshire Astronomical Group https://hantsastro.org.uk/

Icarus Interstellar http://www.icarusinterstellar.org/

Initiative for Interstellar Studies https://i4is.org/

International Academy of Astronautics – SETI Permanent Committee

International Astronomical Union (IAU) https://www.iau.org/
– Division F Planetary Systems and Bioastronomy https://www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/divisions/F/
– F2 – Commission F2 Exoplanets and the Solar System https://www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/commissions/F2/
– F3 – Commission F3 Astrobiology https://www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/commissions/F3/ http://www.scifac.hku.hk/kwok/iaucf3/

NASA https://www.nasa.gov/
– NASA Exoplanet Exploration https://exoplanets.nasa.gov/
 Astrobiology at NASA https://astrobiology.nasa.gov/
– NASA Astrobiology Institute https://nai.nasa.gov/

Planetary Society http://www.planetary.org/
– Exoplanets http://www.planetary.org/explore/projects/exoplanets/
– SETI http://www.planetary.org/explore/projects/seti/
– Optical SETI (OSETI) http://www.planetary.org/explore/projects/seti/optical-seti.html
– Lightsail http://www.planetary.org/explore/projects/lightsail-solar-sailing/
– SETI Institute https://www.seti.org/

SETI League http://www.setileague.org/

The Astronomer http://www.theastronomer.org/

The Tau Zero Foundation https://tauzero.aero/

UAI Exoplanet website http://exphem.uai.it/

UK Centre For Astrobiology https://www.astrobiology.ac.uk/

University of Central Lancashire
– Jerimiah Horrocks Institute
– Stellar Astrophysics
Star Formation and Exoplanets

People

David Brown

Jessie Christiansen

Charles Cockell https://www.ph.ed.ac.uk/people/charles-cockell

Don Pollacco

Sarah Rugheimer https://www.jesus.ox.ac.uk/people/dr-sarah-rugheimer

Sara Seager https://www.saraseager.com/

Jill Tarter

Giovanna Tinetti https://www.ucl.ac.uk/astrophysics/people/giovanna-tinetti

Paul Anthony Wilson https://www.paulanthonywilson.com/blog/

Paul B. Rimmer

Privateers

SpaceX https://www.spacex.com/

Blue Origin https://www.blueorigin.com/

Mars One https://www.mars-one.com/

PTScientists https://ptscientists.com/

Stratolaunch https://www.stratolaunch.com/

Virgin Galactic https://www.virgingalactic.com/

Virgin Orbit https://virginorbit.com/

Software

AstroImageJ https://www.astro.louisville.edu/software/astroimagej/

AIP4WIN http://www.willbell.com/aip/index.htm 

Dimension 4 

Project Pluto, Guide https://www.projectpluto.com/

Stellarium http://stellarium.org/en_GB/

Space observatories and space missions
Ariel Space Mission
 Exoworldsspies https://exoworldsspies.com/
ExoClock project

CHaracterising ExOplanet Satellite (CHEOPS) https://cheops.unibe.ch/

Gaia http://sci.esa.int/gaia/
– Exoplanets http://sci.esa.int/gaia/58784-exoplanets/

James Webb Space Telescope (JWST)

Kepler and K2 https://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/kepler/main/index.html

MEarth Project https://www.cfa.harvard.edu/MEarth/Welcome.html

Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope (previously known as WFIRST)

Next-Generation Transit Survey https://www.ngtransits.org/

Planetary Transits and Oscillations of stars (PLATO) http://sci.esa.int/plato/

Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) https://www.nasa.gov/tess-transiting-exoplanet-survey-satellite
– TESS Follow-Up Program (TFOP) https://tess.mit.edu/followup/

Blue Skies Space Ltd http://www.blueskiesspace.co.uk/
Twinkle

 

 

 

The British Astronomical Association supports amateur astronomers around the UK and the rest of the world. Find out more about the BAA or join us.