BAA MedalEarly in the new year Council considers nominations for the Association’s Medals and Awards. If any members wish to nominate a fellow member for some notable contribution, please send a suitably worded citation to the Business Secretary. All nominations must be in writing and signed by two sponsors. Please try to confine citations to one side of an A4 sheet of paper.

Conditions relating to each award are given below. Members are requested to read the conditions carefully and to ensure that citations comply with the conditions for the relative award.

Walter Goodacre Medal and Gift

This award … is the senior award made by the Association. …Normally awarded at intervals of not less than two years and not more than four years since the last award.

The award shall be given in recognition of the recipient’s contribution to the progress of astronomy over many years, special regard being had to his or her work communicated to the Association, this work being communicated in any form, and not necessarily in writing, provided that the recipient is a member of at least five years standing in the Association at the date of the Annual General Meeting in the year of the award.

Steavenson Award

This shall be awarded to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to observational astronomy.

Horace Dall Medal and Gift

The award shall be made to a person, whether or not a member of the Association, who has shown marked ability in the making of Astronomical Instruments. If two or more people have been jointly concerned in a particular work then each person may receive a medal and gift.

Merlin Medal and Gift

This award shall be made in recognition of a notable contribution to the advancement of astronomy. If two or more persons have been jointly concerned in any particular work, a joint award may be made, in which case each recipient shall receive a medal and gift.

Lydia Brown Medal and Gift

This award shall be in recognition of meritorious service to the Association in an honorary capacity over many years on grounds which would not qualify a nominee for either the Walter Goodacre or Merlin Awards. If two or more persons have been jointly concerned in any particular work, a joint award may be made, in which case each recipient shall receive a medal and gift.

Sir Patrick Moore Prize

The award consists of £500 plus one year’ free membership of the BAA, and may be awarded to members, non-members, and to societies and schools, for one of the following areas of activity:

  1. The encouragement of a public interest in astronomy.
  2. A contribution to the understanding of the history of astronomy.
  3. Outstanding observational work by a member or members under 21 years of age.
  4. The encouragement of participation in observational astronomy by youngsters.
  5. The carrying out of a collaborative research project, whether between amateurs only or also involving professional astronomers.
Cicely Botley Prize

The Cicely Botley Prize of a book token for £100 may be awarded to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to one of the Association’s publications, to include all types of media, including print, video and on-line. 2022 was the first year that nominations have been sought for the Cicely Botley Prize

Find out more



2023 Nick James Janice McLean Paul Abel Steve Floodgate and Dave Grist James Dawson Ann Davies and Alan Dowdell
2022 Clyde Foster Dominic Ford Martin Crow, Simon Dawes and Adrian Jones John Simpson
2021 Lyn Smith Raffaello Lena & Barry Fitzgerald Dale Holt Mary McIntyre, Howard Parkin, Andrew Robertson
2020 Bill Leatherbarrow
Gary Poyner
Roger Pickard Alexandra Hart Rita Whiting
2019 Robin Leadbeater Steve Barrett
2018 L. Adamoli K. Hills Eric Emms
2017 Jean Meeus S. Williams P. Meadows Martin Edmonds
2016 David R.S. Boyd K. Kennedy K. Medway Len Clucas Thomas Killestein
2015 Tom Boles Andrew Wilson Hazel Collett Emil Kraaikamp M. Holmes
2014 Nick James Callum Potter C. Watson
2013 Ann Davies Mike Gainsford D. Put
2012 Ron Livesey David Tyler Ron Johnson
2011 Hazel McGee Cor Berrevoets
2010 Eric Strach Monty Leventhal
2009 Maurice Gavin Peter Hudson Tony Markham
2008 R. Arbour T. Boles J. Shears
2007 H. Mettig P. Birtwhistle P. Wise
2006 R. M. Baum D. Peach
2005 M. Taylor N. D. Hewitt J. R. Fletcher
2004 N. Bone J. Toone
2003 S. Evans D. Gavine D. C, Parker
2002 J. H. Rogers M. Armstrong K. West
2001 D. McAdam M. Oates B. Knight
2000 M. P. Mobberley A. Elliott R. Mizon G. Poyner
1999 E. H. Strach D. Miles D. Buczynski E. J. Hysom
1998 G. M. Hurst S. Laurie A. F. O. D. Jones
1997 M. Collins A. Dowdell M. Armstrong T. C. Platt
1996 R. J. McKim H. R. Soper P. A. Moore D. Sinden
1995 R. Livesey D. Gray J. Youdale
1994 J. E. Isles R. Miles / A. Hollis Isao Miyazaki
1993 J. Brausch H. R. Hatfield / L. G. Mayling H. Hill J. V. Wall / J. R. Nichol
1992 H. B. Ridley G. E. D. Alcock
1991 J. W. Mason
1990 M. J. Hendrie D. A. R. Simmons E. R. Atwell (Miss) J. Dragesco B. Manning
1988 R. Baum J. W. Ells
1987 H. R. Hatfield R. McNaught E. A. Beet
1986 A. W. Heath E. H. Collinson
1985 R. J. McKim C. G. T. Wise N. F. H. Knight
1984 H. G. Miles P. B. Doherty
1983 C. L. Belchem
1982 E. A. Whitaker
1981 R. W. Panther
1980 J. H. Robinson S. W. Milbourne C. R. Munford
1979 B. G. Marsden G. E. Taylor / J. H. Rogers D. R. B. Saw
1978 H. Wildey
1977 R. Eberst
1976 W. E. Fox / G. E. D. Alcock H. B. Ridley O. J. Knox
1975 M. P. Candy
1974 C. Dinwoodie J. L. White
1973 P. A. Ringsdore A. W. Vince
1972 G. E. D. Alcock N. J. Goodman
1971 J. C. Bennett
1970 H. G. Miles
1969 E. A. Beet H. Hill
1968 P. A. Moore A. F. A. Jones
1967 H. E. Dall W. M. Baxter
1966 R. L. Waterfield H. Joy
1965 J. G. Porter B. G. Marsden
1963 G. Merton F. W. Hyde / J R. Smith
1962 A. F. O’D.Alexander G. E. Taylor
1961 W. H. Steavenson G. E. D. Alcock
1959 F. J. Hargreaves
1957 B. M. Peek
1955 P. M. Ryves
1952 F. M. Holborn
1950 F. R. Cripps
1948 M. Davidson
1945 F. J. Sellers
1941 C. F. Butterworth
1937 A. C. D. Crommelin
1935 J. P. M. Prentice
1932 A. M. Newbegin
1930 T. E. R. Phillips