Megastar Sky Atlas

Forums Computing Megastar Sky Atlas

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Alan Snook
    Participant

I’ve been using Megastar for 20 years, lately running on a Windows XP virtual machine. It recently stopped working and I doubt I can fix it. My new laptop doesn’t have a CD drive so I can’t even attempt a simple reinstall. So, I figured it was about time I migrated to a modern software package. I’ve spent most of today trying out KStars, Carte du Ciel and Stellarium. I feel I have wasted the day. I don’t want pretty, I don’t want zodiacial light, I don’t want constellation mythology in 40 different cultures. These modern packages don’t seem to be a patch on Megastar. I feel they are tailored to a different customer. What are astronomers using? Is there a ‘proper’ competent bit of software out there, without all the frills and frippery? Any advice gratefully received.

owen brazell
    Participant

Alan with the demise of Willmann-Bell Emil made Megastar free to use and made a 500Mb download of the program available. It has been hosted here https://www.ladyandtramp.com/megastar/

When you try and access this it may give a certiicate error but I believe you can proceed to the site with no issues.

Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant

Alan, I have a USB DVD drive you cound borrow if required, depending on where you live.

I’m back to La Palma on Friday, all being well, so logistics might be a problem but surely a solveable one.

Alternatively, perhaps you could ask someone with a drive to image it onto a USB thumb drive for you and then re-install from there.

P.S. I very much like Stellarium because it can show the positions of even minor satellites of the planets. Perhaps I am weird.

Added in edit