Solar photography

Forums Sun Solar photography

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Tony Laverick
    Participant

I am about to take delivery of a Seymour Solar SF950 glass solar filter to fit my Celestron Nexstar 8SE. I have a ZWO ASI 462MC colour imaging camera and would like to take photographs of sunspots.

I am a complete novice and have only relatively recently acquired this kit. I have never attempted solar photography before and I should be grateful, therefore, for some advice on how to achieve the best results. I have no idea, for example, of exposure times. I have downloaded SharpCap 4.0 and AutoStakkert for image capture and processing. Any tips on what settings I should use will be gratefully received.

Many thanks in advance,
    Tony Laverick

Daryl Dobbs
    Participant

I just binned one of these, I’ve had it for 5-6 years but rarely use it preferring a Herschel wedge, but hold it up to the light and check for pinholes. I stored mine indoors in a clean plastic bag in a foam case, when I had it new I noticed a cluster of  pinholes but a couple of weekends ago I got it out and the result is the picture below. According to Seymour the coating is on the back,  (I thought it was sandwiched between layers of glass) and they recommended using a black permanent marker pen to cover them, something the good people on the Solar Chat forum which the BAA is a sponsor recommended not to do as it could endanger your eyesight and the camera chip. Since I haven’t used it for quite sometime and it’s remained in its case indoors, I’ve no idea how the pin holes became so large, perhaps flaking over time around the edges? as they were nowhere near as large as this the last time I used it. The filter in the picture below fits a 90mm refractor, I drilled a very small hole in the dew cap which the screw passed through as it nearly blew off in a gust of wind.