2022 – how was it for you?

Forums General Discussion 2022 – how was it for you?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jeremy Shears
    Participant

It has become something of a New Year tradition to comment on the Forum on the past observing year. As it’s cloudy here tonight, I thought I’d kick this off.

I find that I observed on 99 nights, or 27% of all nights in the year. My best months January and March, each with 19 nights.

I have been collecting these stats since 2005 and 2022 was below my average of 110 nights per year (30.5%). The attached plot shows the data over the 18 years. One reason my totals are a bit lower this year is that I have been away, for work and pleasure, much more than usual, making up for lost time over the pandemic (though it might have helped to boost my observations in Jan and Feb as I was still subject to a travel ban)

Note: I only record the nights that I actually observed and expressed as a percentage of all nights in the year (although some nights might have been clear, but I was away from home or otherwise indisposed). A successful “night” might only allow one CCD image to be recorded – or it might be clear all night. So the observing trends do not necessarily correlate to weather trends.

I made 5007 individual variable stars observations (plus quite a few time series, which are not included in this stat), submitted 2969 meteor trajectories to the NEMETODE database and 22 Hα obs to the Solar Section (must do better on the latter count!)

I wish everyone a Happy New Year and clear skies in 2023!

Jeremy

Gary Poyner
    Participant

Observing statistics for 2022.

Gary Poyner (Birmingham)

A record year – the most observing nights from my location in Kingstanding, Birmingham since I began to record weather data in 1978. Admittedley most of the observing opportunities were with broken cloud, or mere breaks in cloud, but a record is a record.