Beginner Move from PEP to CMOS photometry

Forums Photometry Beginner Move from PEP to CMOS photometry

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Kevin West
    Participant

I am looking to get started in photometry with a CMOS (or CCD) camera.
    I’m afraid most of the discussions on here are like a foreign language to me.
    Is there anyone who could guide a beginner. I have a lot of experience in PEP of long period variables
    but the techy/jargon around cameras is tricky for me to follow.
    I have spoken with a few local (Brighton) imagers who have suggested this route.
    I will be buying all equipment from scratch including mount, OTA, camera.
    Not even sure what questions to ask.
    Perhaps a start could be. What are others observing. What magnitude can useful work be carried out with say C8 or say 100mm APO.
    Help please
    Kevin

Robin Leadbeater
    Participant

Hi Kevin,

Do you still have any PEP capability, particularly J,H bands ? I am looking for data on RW Cep to complement my spectroscopy as it returns from its deep fade
    https://britastro.org/vss/VSSC195.pdf page 7

Cheers
    Robin

Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant

Kevin:

I was a newbie at CCD photometry until quite recently and I agree the learning curve can be quite steep.

Have you found https://britastro.org/section_information_/variable-stars-section-overview/baavss-mentoring yet?

I may be able to help you but this forum is not the right place to do it in my opinion. If you would like to email me at paul (a) leyland.vispa.com we can see what can be done to get you started. We can’t easily meet in person because I’m in La Palma right now and after returning to Cambridge in a couple of months we will still be a fair distance apart. Phone and/or Skype/Zoom may be helpful as well as email.

Paul

Kevin West
    Participant

Hello Robin,