Join us for the Solar Eclipse in Patagonia 2020!

Home Forums Sun Join us for the Solar Eclipse in Patagonia 2020!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #574832
    Hazel McGee
    Participant

    Several BAA members (including Nick James, Brian McGee & Mike Frost) have made it to Argentina despite everything (it’s been a pretty weird year…) and are set up now on their site in Patagonia!  Join them by livestream this afternoon (2nd contact is at 16:13 UT) — see links below

     

    Watch the Solar Eclipse Live with Eurotur!

     

     

    This year, Argentina will be the stage of a rare and unique event: a Total Solar Eclipse!

     

    Eurotur is on site at Fortin Nogueira (Piedra del Águila, Neuquen) operating a closed bubble group of over 40 passengers, specially authorized for this astronomy event!

     

    We are very happy to welcome this group of over 40 international astronomy enthusiasts, and our first overseas passengers since the sanitary crisis started.

     

    You can be part of the backstage through our social media accounts, and we invite you to watch the Total Solar Eclipse that will happen on Monday 14th December at 11:30 Argentina Time (14:30 UTC/ 9:30 a.m. EST/ 6:30 PST).

     

    Live Streams:

    NASA: https://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html#public

    Canal 10 (Spanish): https://diario10.com.ar/en-vivo/#fvp_6,4s

     EclipsePiedra del Aguila

    #583561
    James Lancashire
    Participant

    Also live stream at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEHcZE4qcDE
    Clear view from Neuquén province, Argentina, located in the west of the country, at the northern end of Patagonia

    #583562
    Hazel McGee
    Participant

    Great, thanks James. All the other live streams seem to be clogged up, but this one is actually working (for now…). And Neuquén is where our people are, so it’s great that it’s clear there (yesterday it wasn’t, I heard.)

    Cheers, Hazel

    #583563
    Alan Thomas
    Participant

    Very helpful, James, as the NASA live stream seems to show a few people sheltering under umbrellas on what looks a bit like Blackpool prom on a bad day!

    Alan

    #583565
    James Lancashire
    Participant

    The 2-minutes of totality is in about 25 minutes (1607-1609 UT)

    #583566
    Hazel McGee
    Participant

    Or Cornwall in August 1999 of sad memory.  The Argentine site was spot-on, so maybe NASA were in Chile.  Certainly the weather prospects there were much worse anyway.

    Brian M. says it was a wonderful eclipse with a magnificent corona.  More (with pictures) later.

    #583567
    Nick James
    Participant

    Yes, clear at the Astro Trails site in Argentina. Fantastic view although a bit windy. https://britastro.org/observations/observation.php?id=20201214_214258_b6606c0d197cc531

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.