Locating targets

Forums Spectroscopy Locating targets

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Kevin Gurney
    Participant

I have now acquired my first spectrum (with SCT) and processed in Demetra (beta) – see my uploaded image on my profile page

The target (psi 1 Aur) is fairly bright so probably not difficult to get good data here, but  I was pleasantly surprised to see a good match with a reference spectrum for another K5 star  (HD47914 – Miles dbase) as shown in the wavelength-range-restricted plot. There are differences in general shape however…so maybe instrument response needs more work.

Anyway, at the recent workshop, Francois noted that one issue is locating your target star. While I have some experience in locating diffuse objects (galaxies, nebulae) I didn’t appreciate how hard locating stars can be! I dont have a permanent rig so have to align any finderscopes to the main optic axis each time. The limitations of using a guide camera and reflective slit as your main target location image soon became apparent… 🙂   I was using  a camera on a finderscope (as well as using a visual spotter scope too). Is this what people generally use? I found the quality of images from the guide cam was not up to plate solving (I usually manage OK in Sequence generatr pro).. Any tips on locating target stars? But right now, I think I will have to get some kind of daytime target set-up to align finderscopes and main image..

cheers

Kevin

Andy Wilson
    Keymaster

Hi Kevin,

For locating targets when polar alignment may be a bit off, I suggest star hopping. Start with a bright star that cannot be mistaken for anything else, then move towards the target star, if necessary locating and centering some other stars of intermediate brightness along the way.