Mary Ashley

Forums History Mary Ashley

Tagged: 

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Jacopo Malnati
    Participant

Hi everyone, I am a new member from Italy. I am an amateur visual astronomer, and during full moon periods, I enjoy delving into historical topics. I collect Victorian-era books and love comparing those notes and drawings to my own astronomical notes and sketches.

Among the many books I own, I have a first edition from 1864 of “A General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, arranged in order of right ascension and reduced to the common epoch 1860-0 (with precessions computed for the epoch 1880-0)” by John Frederick William Herschel. A fragment has been removed from the first page, which likely contained John’s autograph. Next to it, there is the name of Mary Ashley, whom I discovered, after some painstaking research, lived at 16 New Kind Street, Bath (or at least that was her address in 1889, according to some letters sent to the poet Walt Whitman) just two house numbers away from the Herschels. Mary is mentioned here and there in the context of selenography; it seems she had her own observatory or at least her own instrument that she used to study, compare, and update lunar surface maps (looks like she was also into planets).

I am looking for information about Mary. I have done some research and know where she is buried, and I have found traces (in online scans) of letters she sent to various journals (Selenographical Journal, as well as in the Astronomical Register, English Mechanic and World of Science, and The Observatory). In one of the “Letters to the Editor” (https://britastro.org/journal_old/archive/de98ltrs.htm), I see that Anthony Kinder was asking several years ago if anyone had news of her. Anthony also claims that the BAA has 6 of the 7 notebooks:

1878 July 3–1879 May 6–3¼-inch.
    1879 May 29–1880 Aug 30–3¼-inch; from 1880 February 14, the 4-inch.