Seestar S50 self-help group

Forums Telescopes Seestar S50 self-help group

Tagged: 

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant

Any other Seestar S50 users here, especially newbies who could swap problems and solutions?

A S50 turned up a couple of days ago and although it sort of works, I hit problems.

Managed to take a “scenery” image of the garden but have yet to take anything of astronomical interest.

Paul

Lars Lindhard
    Participant

Hi Paul

I don’t think I am a newbie anymore but if I can help please let me know.

Dr Diane Clarke
    Participant

I am currently using an S50,& have some exp using same, what problems have you encountered ?

Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant

Thanks both.

I have a series of questions but will deal with them one at a time to help reduce confusion. Further, please note that I know very little about this system, in part because of the woefully limited documentation that ZWO provides, so may have some completely false assumptions and preconceptions.

First concerns set-up. I thought that the S50 would use Bluetooth to communicate with an Android phone. At initialization time the S50 states “Need bluetooth access to search Seestar nearby” and it is necessary to set the phone’s Wifi connection to the 10.0.0.0/8 local network created by the S50. Connection then proceeds satisfactorily but, of course, the phone no longer has access to the internet — seriously crippling other important features.

I have tried everything I can think of to configure the phone to allow the use of Bluetooth, without success. The phone will happily pair with other devices, such as a laptop so much is clearly working.

Any suggestions? If it helps, the Seestar firmware is V2.95

Lars Lindhard
    Participant

I use Iphone and I don’t know if the system is similar on Adroid, but I can connect to the Seestar through Seestar’s wifi and still have access to the internet.