Cosmic Ray – Raspberry Pi Geiger Counter

Forums Radio Astronomy Cosmic Ray – Raspberry Pi Geiger Counter

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nick Francis
    Participant

Hi,
    Newbie here.
    Inspired by the RA section chaps at Astrofest I put together a Gieger Counter using a “cheap” GM tube and Raspberry Pi.
    Leaving the counter on for days I see an average count per minute of 25. The plot attached shows a few hours. There is a noise of a few CPM all time, but then a larger (but not huge) variation over minutes/hours.
    Interested to know if this larger variation is just a ‘random noise’ variation as well, maybe due to electronics or other external factors, or indeed actual cosmic ray events/levels changing during day?
    I realise a GM tube not ideal detector plus a Coincidence setup better, but just interested to know if can infer anything more from the variations and variation profiles, from a cosmic ray point of view with a simple setup like this?

David Strange
    Participant

Hello Nick,

We recently setup a Muon detector at Norman Lockyer Observatory:

https://normanlockyer.com/techgroup/muons.html

But I’m not the best person to ask as to what it all means!
    It shows a fairly regular detection rate at present, I guess when we get past the next solar maximum, rates will increase?
    David

Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant