Measuring R number for the Sun

Forums Sun Measuring R number for the Sun

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Duncan Hale-Sutton
    Participant

I made an observation of the sun yesterday (see attachment) at 10:02 UT by projecting the image onto paper. I didn’t have time to get the east-west drift line and so compared my image to an SDO/HMI image taken at 13:45 UT (see attached also) to get the correct orientation (I hope). I then looked at https://www.spaceweather.com/ to assign active regions (AR numbers). I am new to all this but I have read quite a bit of the BAA’s Observing Guide on the sun. I would like to add to the basic information by measuring the R number but I have some questions about this.

Firstly, I understand that you count the number of individual groups of spots (say G) and then the number of spots (say S) themselves. An individual group is defined if it is “more than 10 degrees apart on the solar surface” from any other group. Then R=10G+S. However, if you look at my observation AR3107 and AR3105 are pretty close together. How would you estimate how far apart these two groups are? Do people have a feeling for this or do they go through some more rigorous approach?

Secondly, counting the spots themselves. The spots have a dark umbra and then a lighter penumbra. Do you count the umbrae areas as separate spots or can a spot be several umbrae that can be linked by a common penumbra? Some of the spots are extremely small or very faint (but just noticeable). How far down the chain of size do you keep counting spots?

Finally, is the R number something that is dependent on the equipment and the subjectivity of the observer (for example you can see another group of spots on the SDO/HMI image at the extreme west that my image missed) or is it robust enough to provide a measure of the activity of the sun. Would two different observers come up with similar R numbers if observing at the same time?

Peter Meadows
    Participant