Telescopes for astrophotography

Forums Telescopes Telescopes for astrophotography

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Rohit Korde
    Participant

I am interested in doing astrophotography with my canon dslr using long exposure timelapse using the intervalometer built-in.

Which type of telescopes (Newtonian v/s Cassegrainian reflectors) are recommended for astrophotography.

I am somewhat new to this and hence some help is appreciated. 

Regards

Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant

It doesn’t seem to matter much whether you use a Newtonian or a Cassegrain.  That from personal experience and from reading the metadata attached to many images on the web.

What is by far the most important is that the telescope tracks the sky properly. Getting everything mechanically balanced makes the mount’s job much simpler!

Having an autoguider is not essential but certainly makes life immensely easier. Without it you need to have a very well set up and high quality mount and/or take lots of short exposure subs then throw away any which show unacceptable trailing.

Callum Potter
    Keymaster

It all really depends on what you want to do – but short focal length refractors are a popular starting point for imaging. The wider field of view will be more forgiving of tracking errors, and many are a good match to a DSLR.

As Paul says – a good tracking mount is essential. And GOTO is useful. If you can get good 30s exposures which you can stack you will find a huge range of potential targets in reach. 

Callum

Dr Paul Leyland
    Participant