Stellar occultation by a Damocloid 2013LU28 18th Aug 22:20UT

Forums Asteroids Stellar occultation by a Damocloid 2013LU28 18th Aug 22:20UT

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    David Strange
    Participant

Forwarded:
    Primarily for observers in South West UK:

Subject: [Norman Lockyer Observatory] Contact Us

You got a new response!
    Name:
    Damya Souami
    Email:
    damya.souami@obspm.fr
    Comment:
    Hello,
    My name is Damya Souami. I am a researcher at the Observatory of Paris,. I am reaching out about a challenging (twilight and relatively high airmass) occultation event observable from your observatory.

The event is a stellar occultation by an outer solar system object that belongs to the dynamical class called the Damocloids. It is a highly eccentric (0.954) and retrograde orbit ( inclination ~125°).

On August 18th UT around 22:20 UT, 2013LU28 will be occulting a 13.1 mag star. Here is the detailed prediction https://lesia.obspm.fr/lucky-star/occ.php?p=124677 . On this page you will find the star’s coordinates as well as an interactive sky map (using Aladin).

This event is very important because of the nature of the object. The event will last at most 5.7s.
    The challenging part is the fact that this event will be happening during twilight, at the the star is relatively low. The conditions (in terms of elevation) are more favourable in the UK and Ireland.
    At your location, the conditions are the following elevation h10.5, azimuth A344.8, hour angle H:10h29m.

I hope there are no trees or building … or other constraints preventing you for pointing the telescope.
    If you do have a fast camera, make some tests the nights before and try too et an SNR of (ideally) 5 to 10 on the star.
    Observations at your location must be done between 22:10 to 22:25.

If this event is technically observable from any of your telescopes, I’ll be happy to exchange on the instrumental setup.