Memoirs of an Astronomer, Naturalist and Weather Recorder by Alan Heath

Forums General Discussion Memoirs of an Astronomer, Naturalist and Weather Recorder by Alan Heath

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Dawson
    Participant

I’ve been working with Alan Heath for the last two years or so on helping him to get his memoirs published. It has been great fun, even if I did have to convert over 40,000 words typed on a typewriter to an electronic format, and scan and edit over 150 images. We went down the self-publishing route as I thought it would be easier and we’d end up with a book which more accurately reflected what Alan wanted.

The book has three main sections: Astronomy; Nature; and Weather. It is about 270 pages and a bit bigger than A5. The book is a published record of many of the observations Alan has made over the years and some interpretation of these. Alan also gives some insight into his early years, and describes some of the trips he has been on, and some of the many projects and activities he has undertaken, and also includes some local history about Long Eaton where he has lived all of his life. The book has primarily been written for friends and family, as a summary of his life and his passion for the natural sciences. It does have an ISBN as copies will be sent to the British Library and the other legal deposit libraries in the UK; we only had 60 copies printed and had no intention of selling them. If however anyone wants to buy a copy, I suspect it would be about £20 which would cover the cost of printing the book and postage within the UK. If demand exceeds the 10-20 copies which Alan has not already ear-marked for people, then we’d have to get more printed, which isn’t a big deal. [contact me if you want to buy a copy]